Page Banner Background


Excellence in Journalism Award Winners Announced

Thank you to everyone who helped make last night’s Excellence in Journalism awards banquet a huge success!

The digital awards booklet is now online. You can download the full list of winners by clicking here, and SPJ board member Cliff DesPeaux posted a photo gallery from the award banquet online.

The chapter celebrated the very best in Northwest journalism with the help of two incredible emcees: Jerry Brewer of the Seattle Times and Jen Mueller of ROOT Sports.

All of our attendees helped to raise a significant amount of support for the chapter’s student scholarship program. Congratulations to our three scholarship recipients: Matthew Benoit, Katelin Chow and Gina Cole.

We are still totaling orders from the silent auction, but a special appeal to match a $500 donation from the Washington Coalition for Open Government raised an additional $750 in contributions. THANK YOU to everyone who contributed last night, and especially the Washington Coalition for Open Government for making this additional scholarship a reality. We will be notifying the recipient of this scholarship and sharing more info shortly.

Seattle Times Photographer Alan Berner was recognized with the chapter’s annual June Anderson Almquist Award for distinguished service. The Times posted an article today about Alan’s award.

The chapter also recognized former PI reporter and Al Jazeera English reporter Dorothy Parvaz with its Susan Hutchison Bosch award for perseverance and quiet courage.

If you didn’t pick up your trophy, certificates or silent auction items, please contact chapter president Clay Holtzman to arrange for pick up, payment and delivery at

Thank you and congratulations again to all of our award winners.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.