Page Banner Background


Journalist of the year, new journalist of the year, newsroom innovation….SPJ Western WA still seeking nominations for six journalism awards

We are re-opening our nominations for the SPJ Gala Awards, in order to clarify confusion around the rules. NOTE: self-nominations are not allowed, with the exception of the Innovation Award. Newsrooms are welcome and encouraged to self-nominate for the Innovation Award.

Please help us spread the word. We want every local, hard-working journalist to get a chance to win!

Journalists don’t always get the recognition they deserve, so let’s take this moment to honor the best professionals in our industry. Nominate outstanding journalists in our area for six special chapter awards. The application process is simple. Just a few questions and 500 words on your nominee. Self nominations will not be accepted. The nomination deadline is Sunday, May 15. The nomination deadline has been extended to 11:59pm, Thursday, May 26th! Winners will be announced prior to the June 18 gala.

  • Journalist of the Year: This award will go to a local journalist who has made an impact both externally (with the public) and internally. Any journalist can win this award – from a copy editor or page designer to an editor or producer to a writer or photographer to a single-person running an online site. The nominator must demonstrate to us that this person has had a standout year. Please be as specific as possible. Self-nominations not allowed.
  • New Journalist of the Year: This award will go to an outstanding journalist who has only been full-time for three years or less. It’s not easy being the “newbie” and sometimes you don’t get the most glorious assignments. This award is to honor those new journalists who take on tasks, no matter what they are, with enthusiasm and determination. Self-nominations not allowed.
  • June Anderson Almquist Lifetime Achievement Award: In the late 1960s, the SPJ Western Washington Chapter established the “Courage in Journalism” and “Service to Journalism” awards to honor organizations and individuals for special contributions toward the betterment of journalism within Washington state. They were later combined into one under the moniker of the “Distinguished Service to Journalism Award.” The board renamed the award the “June Anderson Almquist Award for Distinguished Service to Journalism,” following the trailblazing Seattle Times journalist’s death in 2000. Self-nominations not allowed.
  • Susan Hutchison Bosch Award for Perseverance and Quiet Courage: Susan Hutchison Bosch, an environmental affairs reporter for the Seattle P-I, contracted lymphoma at the age of 18 while a student at the University of Washington and died of Hodgkin’s disease at the age of 25 in 1971. Bosch “personified intellectual honesty, deep understanding of people and their problems, abiding fairness, grace, perseverance and quiet courage,” according to the board that established this award in her honor. “Though afflicted with Hodgkin’s disease, she rejected despair and chose to live a fully committed life.” The award is presented only when the recipient is judged uniquely qualified and his or her work reflects the qualities Bosch defined in life. Self-nominations not allowed.
  • Innovation Award: This award will go to a journalist or staff of journalists who have innovated in the service of their audience in a powerful way. The nominator must describe a specific innovation made during the course of the award year and explain how the innovation broke new ground and made an impact. Any journalist or staff of journalists in any medium can win this award, including writers, photographers, broadcasters, producers, editors, managers and designers. Staff or managers of a media organization newsroom are welcome to nominate their own newsroom.
  • Journalism Educator of the Year: This award will go to a teacher who has made an exceptional contribution to journalism education and standards of the profession. Any level of journalism educator can win this award, including high school and college. The nominator must describe why this teacher has made a difference and is an outstanding teacher. The nominator can be a student, former student, parent or colleague. Self-nominations not allowed.

We’re also seeking applications for our ongoing Passion Projects, grants that go to Northwest photojournalists to help them continue a self-initiated project. See our Google form application for details.

No Comments

Post A Comment