Page Banner Background


Now accepting 2022 entries for the Northwest Excellence in Journalism Contest

At a glance


The Society of Professional Journalists annual Northwest Excellence in Journalism 2022 Awards contest is now open for submissions. 

The deadline to submit work has been extended: The new deadline is March 3. Please note we are using the BetterBNC platform this year.

How to enter

Updated categories


About the contest

This competition, one of the largest of its kind in the nation, honors work published or broadcast across Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana and Alaska. 

Anyone who produces journalism residing and working in these states, known as SPJ Region 10, is eligible to enter the contest. All entries must be published or broadcast in 2022. 

Like previous years, this year we formed a committee of journalists from across SPJ Region 10 to help us adjust the contest to accommodate ever-changing newsrooms and the mediums they cover. We updated our categories and the contest rules.

Fees per entry for SPJ members are $25. At least one journalist credited on the submission must be a member or the submitting newsroom must be a newsroom member. For non-members, the fee per entry is $30.

If you have any questions, concerns or suggestions, contact contest organizers at


Previous years’ results

2021 Contest Winners

No Comments

Post A Comment