Page Banner Background


Watch for 2009-2010 Board Ballot in the mail!

Every year the local chapter of SPJ holds an election to fill vacant board seats and to usher in new leadership. This year’s ballots are being mailed today, June 14, 2009, to every active SPJ member who is assigned to our chapter. The ballots will be mailed via first class U.S. postal mail. Votes must be cast and received by Monday, June 29, 2009 to be counted. Only one vote per member is permitted.

Here is a sneak peek at this year’s board slate:

Officers’ positions (one-year terms):

President:  Hilary Reeves, Managing Editor, Business Examiner
Treasurer:  Ursula Reutin, News Director, KIRO Radio
Secretary:  Linda Thomas, Freelance Broadcast and Print Journalist

Board members (two-year terms unless otherwise noted):

David Volk, Freelance Writer
Monica Guzman, News Gatherer,
Breanne Coats, Associate Editor, Business Examiner
Clay Holtzman, Staff Writer, Puget Sound Business Journal
Jim Simon, Assistant Managing Editor, The Seattle Times  (one-year term)
Paula Marmion, Manager of Special Projects, Q13 News (one-year term)

Click here to view the full board slate, including bios.

In addition to these positions, the 2009-2010 board also includes past-president Dana Neuts, Freelance Journalist and owner of Virtually Yourz, and Sharon Salyer, Health & Social Issues Reporter, The (Everett) Herald. The position of past-president does not require election, and Salyer is completing the second year in her two-year term.

If you have any questions or do not receive your ballot in the mail, please contact current president Dana Neuts.